Assault is a crime that’s taken very seriously in Arizona, and the legislature has put several laws in place that make the punishments for a conviction quite severe in most cases. This is something to consider if you’re facing a potential prosecution for any of the assault-related charges in Arizona, as simply allowing the situation to progress without taking steps to defend yourself will most likely result in much more than a simple ‘slap on the wrist.’
Below is a look at some of the different assault laws and charges in Arizona, and if you find yourself in this situation, contact an attorney to schedule an consultation and they will be able to completely explain to you your rights.
Misdemeanor Assault Charges
The following are assault assault charges charges that are generally classified as misdemeanors:
ARS 13-1203 – A person commits assault by:
- Intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causing any physical injury to another person; or
- Intentionally placing another person in reasonable apprehension of imminent physical injury; or
- Knowingly touching another person with the intent to injure, insult or provoke such person.
ARS 13-1201 – Endangerment; Classification:
- A person commits endangerment by recklessly endangering another person with a substantial risk of imminent death or physical injury.
- Endangerment involving a substantial risk of imminent death is a class 6 felony. In all other cases, it is a class 1 misdemeanor.
The misdemeanor assault charges above could lead to up to one year in jail upon a conviction and up to $2,500.00 in fines.
Felony Assault Charges
The following are Arizona assault statutes that are prosecuted as felonies:
ARS 13-1204 – Aggravated Assault:
Aggravated assault involves a simple assault with aggravated circumstances, including:
- Using a deadly weapon
- Results in serious physical injury
- After entering the home of another
- Restraining the victim
There are other aggravated circumstances, but aggravated assault in Arizona is considered a Class 3 felony, and can result in a prison term of 5 – 15 years upon a first conviction.
ARS 13-1202 – Threatening or Intimidating
A person commits threatening or intimidating if the person threatens or intimidates by word or conduct:
- To cause physical injury to another person or serious damage to the property of another; or
- To cause, or in reckless disregard to causing, serious public inconvenience including, but not limited to, evacuation of a building, place of assembly or transportation facility; or
- To cause physical injury to another person or damage to the property of another in order to promote, further or assist in the interests of or to cause, induce or solicit another person to participate in a criminal street gang, a criminal syndicate or a racketeering enterprise.
Threatening or intimidating is also seen as a Class 3 felony and can result in up to 3.5 years in prison upon a conviction.